What We Do

Institute of Hydrocarbon Recovery (IHR) is a unique research centre that tackle ideas and challenges of major hydrocarbon recovery in the community and the environment.

Read More

Our Research

Our strengths lie in our multidisciplinary approach in developing people-centred technologies that improve and advance modern science, industry and society.

Work With Us

If you’re passionate about tackling global challenges in hydrocarbon and its inter-disciplinary, and collaborating with the brightest minds in your discipline, IHR is the place for you for come and work.

Research Facilities

IHR offer state-of-the-art shared research facilities and recharge centers that provide access to high end instruments, cutting edge technologies, and services. Our facilities enhance and expand the collaborative capabilities of our research community.

Publications

At the forefront of innovation and discovery we are advancing knowledge to improve lives. Our interdisciplinary research, unique model for collaborations and cutting edge facilities, enable our research community to create global solutions.

Focus / Cluster


Institute Members

Institute Head Members


Centre/Group/Cluster Head of Centre/Group/Cluster Email
Shale Gas Research Group (SGRG) Eswaran A/L A.R.Padmanabhan eswaran_padmanabhan@utp.edu.my
Wells Research Group (WRG) Assoc. Prof. Dr Moacyr Bortholomeu Laruccia moacyr.laruccia@utp.edu.my
Centre of Excellence in Subsurface Seismic Imaging (CSI) Prof Dr Deva Prasad Ghosh drdeva@utp.edu.my
Centre of Advanced Electromagnetic (CADeM) Prof Dr Noorhana Yahya noorhana_yahya@utp.edu.my
Centre of Research in Enhanced Oil Recovery (COREOR) Ismail Bin Mohd Saaid ismailsaaid@utp.edu.my
Basin Studies Research Group (BSRG) Assoc. Prof. Dr Abd. Hadi bin Abd. Rahman hadi_rahman@utp.edu.my
Boltzmann-Ocean & Subsurface Technology (BOST) Research Group Dr Siti Habibah Binti Shafiai sitihabibah.shafiai@utp.edu.my
Shale Gas Research Group Dr Shiferaw Regassa Jufar shiferaw.jufar@utp.edu.my
South East Asia Carbonate Laboratory (SEACaRL) Prof Dr Michael C.Poppelreiter m.poppelreiter@utp.edu.my